Institute for Excellence in Higher Education(IEHE), Bhopal
An Autonomous Institute established by Govt. of M.P.(College with Potential for Excellence Status Conferred by UGC)
Profile of the Department
<< Back     Department : Political Science
<< Back    
Department : Political Science
Department Established in 1995
Brief Profile of the Department      The department of political science and public administration was established in 1995 at IEHE. The department seeks to advance the science of politics and public administration through teaching and research. The B.A. (honours) course is design to equip the students with the foundation of the subject while opening for them channels to pursue higher studies as well as opt for competitive exams or other career. The course is also designed to keep in tune with the civil services syllabus of the competitive exams. The department has introduced M.A. in public administration in 2000 and M.A. in political science in 2014. The P.G course in M.A. in public administration is first of its kind in the capital and is addressed largely to those interested in public administration, management and development areas. The M.A. programme of political science besides offering advanced knowledge in core areas of subject focuses on specific areas of study like foreign policy and paper with special emphasis on analytical aspects of discipline. After declaration as research centre in 2005, the department provided vibrant PhD programme. Throughout the year, besides regular teaching. The department hosts seminars, panel discussions, workshops, extension lectures and study tour for its students. It has a vibrant student association and an excellent departmental library. All these exclusive features of department are attracting the students with higher percentage to get admitted. The regular faculties are dedicated and well qualified from the premier universities and are registered research guiders as well. The department progressed gradually and various new courses and research programmes were initiated, enabling the department to carve a distinct niche and explore new frontiers in the academic world. This is proved by the award of director’s medal to students of political science in the year 2008-09, 2012-13 and 2015-16 and looking forward for more such appreciation.
Department List
S.No.NameDesignation Joining Date of IEHEEmailPhoto
1 DR ANITA DESHPANDE Professor HOD 28/05/2009
2 DR. INDU PANDEY Professor 15-06-2004
3 DR.SADHANA PANDEY Professor 17/06/2015
4 DR SHALINI SINGH BAGHEL Honorary 30/08/2016
5 ANU THAKUR Honorary 09/07/2018
6 MITALI LAVANIA Honorary 18/07/2018
7 NEELESH CHOUDHARY Honorary 25/07/2019
8 DR JYOTI KAURAV Honorary 26/12/2019
9 SONAM GOYAL Honorary 26/12/2019
Courses Offered Undergraduate, Postgraduate
Facilities Provided by the Department
Achievements of the Department
1 Invited as resource person in workshop / Seminar
2 A number of students of POLITICAL SCIENCE Honors have cleared NET.
3 Four student selected in MPPSC Asst. Professor Exam 2017
4 Got first rank in state level MOCK Parliament in 2018
Highlights of the Department
1 Research Centre for Political Science and Public Administration (PhD. Scholars)
2 Mock Parliament
3 Visits to Vidhan sabha
4 Educational tour Panchayat visit.
5 Started One year diploma course in Psephology
Future Plans of the Department
1 Reviving the research centre
2 Striving to ensure a better research orientation environment in the department.
3 Expanding the departmental library (both quantitatively and qualitatively).
4 Increasing the number of special lectures by esteemed personalities.
5 Creating a better balance between the theoretical and empirical aspects of the subject.
6 Organising Mock Parliament for students.
7 More frequent visits to the Vidhan Sabha (State Legislature) and other government offices to observe the live debates, and ensure better understanding of governmental and administrative work. This is particularly important as the number of students interested in joining the administrative services have increased in recent years.
Research Activity & Achievement     
S.No.NameResearch PaperBooksMinor Research ProjectMajor Research ProjectPh.D. produced under the supervisionM.Phil. produced under the supervisionEdited BooksAttended Workshop/ ConferencesConducted Seminar/ Workshop As ConvenorAchievement
1 DR ANITA DESHPANDE 32 0 0 0 4 0 0 80 4

11. Awarded National Merit Scholarship Awarded in Year 1980-81 by Government of India Ministry of Education      & Social Welfare.  

12. International Academic Visit on Foreign Policy 

Participated in the International Visitors Leadership Programme (IVLP) organized under United States Department of State US Foreign Policy From February 28 to March 20, 2008. Visited Washington D.C., New York, Arkansas & Seattle as Representative of India.

13. Awards

13.1) Best Teacher Award given by all India Women Conference on 5th September 2007.

13.2) Arkansas Traveler Certification Award by Secretary of State, Arkansas Little Rock United States. 

14. Resource Person / Expert / Member - 28 in number. 

15. Member of Board of Studies, Barkatullah University since 2014-17.

16. Life Member Institute of Public Administration New Delhi (IIPA).

17. Executive member of Institute of Public Administration Madhya Pradesh & Chhattisgarh Regional Branch.

18. Assistant Editor Ojas Panchakarma - A Peer Reviewed Research Journal of Holistic Health Management (ISSN 2454 – 7832).

19.Chairman ,Board of studies, Political Science, Barkatullaha University, Bhopal. (Oct 2017  to Oct 2020)

2 DR. INDU PANDEY 14 1 1 0 2 0 0 40 2
3 DR.SADHANA PANDEY 29 1 3 0 0 0 0 22 4

1. In M.A. University topper

4 DR SHALINI SINGH BAGHEL 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0
5 ANU THAKUR 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0
6 MITALI LAVANIA 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
7 DR JYOTI KAURAV 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 6 0



Consultancy Services Available(if any)
Study Materials & Important Links